top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCrossfire

Door Frame Scriptures: Treasures in Heaven


Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moths and vermin destroy, and

where thieves break in and steal. But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moths and vermin do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal.  For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also. Matthew 6:19-21


When my mother passed away four years ago, I was given the devastating task of cleaning out her home of 20 years. A small portion of things were priceless family memories, but only valuable to a few of us who knew her so well. She loved to collect odd items that she found at thrift stores and garage sales. These things were her treasures, and she stored them in every available space in the house. 


Once sorted, I realized the majority of my mother’s belongings would be donated to charity or thrown away. Some of them had been stored in the attic and had been used by squirrels for nests or snacks.


As I near retirement, I find myself regularly monitoring my accounts…checking, retirement, investments, and real estate. I have accumulated quite a few earthly treasures. I budget fiercely so that I might retire and live comfortably for the  remainder of my days. But what of these “heavenly treasures” that Jesus talks about and how do I check the balance of that account?


In His Sermon on the Mount, Jesus warned us of storing up earthly treasures that thieves could steal. Instead, we should store up heavenly treasures that last for eternity. Heavenly treasures are our contributions to the Body of Christ. These treasures are things like loving and serving others, giving of our time, our spiritual talents, monetary contributions - even experiencing personal persecutions for the name of Jesus.

 

Revelation 22:12 tells us that Jesus is bringing rewards when he returns. His rewards are eternal. “See, I am coming soon; my reward is with me, to repay according to everyone’s work. I am the Alpha and the Omega, the first and the last, the beginning and the end.”


Have you checked the balance on your heavenly treasures lately? How have you contributed to the Body of Christ? For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also. How do your earthly and heavenly account balances compare? Is your heart more in your earthly treasures or your heavenly treasures?


"The Lord will be faithful to reward us for the service we give Him.” (Hebrews 6:10) Our ministries may differ, but the Lord we serve is the same. “The man who plants and the man who waters have one purpose, and each will be rewarded according to his own labor.” (1 Corinthians 3:8) We serve the Lord knowing that God is keeping track of our heavenly treasures, and His reward will be abundantly gracious.

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Коментарі


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page