top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCrossfire

Forsaken


My God, My God, Why have you forsaken me...they have pierced my hands and my feet. I can count all my bones; people stare and gloat over me. They divide my garments among them and cast lots for my clothing. (Psalm 22)


And it was the third hour when they crucified him. And when the sixth hour had come, there was darkness over the whole land until the ninth hour. And at the ninth hour Jesus cried with a loud voice, Eloi, Eloi, lema sabachthani which means “My God, my God, Why have You forsaken me?" (Mark 15:25,33-34)


You are standing there in tears, lost in a sea of emotions. All around you has been chaos for days and now your whole world has gone dark. It is as if your inner turmoil has spilled out into the world around you and the world is reflecting your emotional state. You can now barely see Jesus as he is hanging on the cross. How did this happen? What is happening? Why is it happening?


As you have lived and followed alongside this man for the last few years, you have learned that he is no ordinary man. You have witnessed miracles and you have felt alive for the first time in your life. Never had you heard truth taught as he taught it. Never had you seen God's truth authentically lived out as he had lived it. This man Jesus exemplified all that you had learned from the ancient prophet's prophecies. This God-Man, this Jesus, must surely be the promised Messiah you have waited for your whole life.


But here he is. Hanging on a cross in a world gone dark.


Grappling with the scene, your mind goes back to things Jesus said,


"The works that I do in my Father's name bear witness about me, but you do not believe because you are not among my sheep. My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me. I give them eternal life, and they will never perish, and no one will snatch them out of my hand. My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all, and no one is able to snatch them out of the Father's hand. I and the Father are one.” (John 10:25b-30)


For this reason, the Father loves me, because I lay down my life that I may take it up again. No one takes it from me, but I lay it down of my own accord. I have authority to lay it down, and I have authority to take it up again. This charge I have received from my Father.” (John 10:17-18)


“A little while, and you will see me no longer; and again, a little while, and you will see me.” So, some of his disciples said to one another, “What is this that he says to us, ‘A little while, and you will not see me, and again a little while, and you will see me'; and, ‘because I am going to the Father’?” (John16:16-17)


He had been trying to tell you. Through his many parables and teaching, he plainly explained to you his mission. His purpose for being here on Earth. Yet you couldn't grasp the meaning of his words. You knew they were important but the significance somehow escaped you.


As you continue trying to remember his words, you are reminded of something miraculous that happened just a few days ago. Jesus was talking and said,


“Now I am very troubled. Should I say, ‘Father, save me from this time’? No, I came to this time so I could suffer. Father, bring glory to your name!” Then a voice came from heaven, “I have brought glory to it, and I will do it again.” The crowd standing there, who heard the voice, said it was thunder. But others said, “An angel has spoken to him.” Jesus said, “That voice was for your sake, not mine. Now is the time for the world to be judged; now the ruler of this world will be thrown down. If I am lifted up from the earth, I will draw all people toward me.” (John 12:27-33NCV)


Three hours pass in stifling darkness. Darkness that begins to seep into your very soul. Then you hear a loud voice crying out from the cross. You would have expected a small, feeble mumble of words coming from your tortured friend, but this is a powerful cry that makes your heart break:


“Eloi, Eloi, lema sabachthani?” My God, my God, why have you forsaken me? (Mark 15:34)


Wait, what? God can't forsake him, the only truly righteous man I have ever known. That doesn't make any sense. What do these words mean? Was this like one of his parables where he only wanted “those with ears to hear” to understand him? Everything Jesus has ever said in his ministry has had a purpose. Each thought and sentence he spoke had a deeper meaning or a hidden message. You search your memories, trying to recall what he may have said that can help you understand this moment. There had to be a reason for these words. This can't be how this story ends. The Messiah can't be forsaken and die, can he?


As you continue to force your brain to remember, an old song you memorized in your youth comes back to you. It was one of David’s psalms. Then as the light begins to shine, you begin to recall the words of the song. The very first line is exactly like the words that Jesus just cried out. Those same words of despair that David cried. Your heart begins to beat a little faster as you begin to recall other lines from that song. It speaks of doubtful, mocking bystanders, a painful and slow death of the body. He even referred to garments being divided by a casting of lots. It is like David was describing the scene that you had been witnessing all day! How could he have known? A little hope springs up in your soul as you recount lines from the middle and end of the song,


For he has not despised or abhorred the affliction of the afflicted, and he has not hidden his face from him, but has heard, when he cried to him. (Psalm 22:24 ESV)


They shall come and proclaim his righteousness to a people yet unborn, that he has done it. (Psalm 22:31ESV)


That’s it! Jesus’ words are to remind you of the prophecy. He was fulfilling another prophesy! Your heart is flooded with new emotions. Not sadness and despair. Now there is hope and love.


Then another memory comes to you. There was a day he told the crowds that he would be rejected and be killed by the elders and chief priests. You recall being so shocked at how forcibly he had rebuked Peter’s admonition. Peter didn’t want to believe Jesus’ prophetic words (Mark 8:31-38). Had he predicted his own death and you had not paid attention? Wait, didn't he also say, "in three days I will rise again"? So, if the death is happening as he foretold, then surely you will see him again in three days. A little more hope. A little more light.


This was assurance of all he had taught you and every word he had ever spoken. He said, “as the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. (John 15:9) He always said that he loved you but now you see it more clearly than ever. He was up there, on that cross, enduring so much pain and suffering, for your sake. It was your sin, not his. It should be you on that cross. But it wasn't. It was your Messiah who had come to this world in order for you to be reconciled to God. Forgiven. Not Forsaken.


This is what real love is: It is not our love for God; it is God’s love for us. He sent his Son to die in our place to take away our sins. (1 John 4:10 NCV)


You are his love and he stopped at nothing to rescue you from the bondage of sin. For you, Jesus endured the wrath of all judgment, for all time. Because of Him, you are saved, and you are free.


Therefore, since we also have such a great cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let’s rid ourselves of every obstacle and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let’s run with endurance the race that is set before us, looking only at Jesus, the originator and perfecter of the faith, who for the joy set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. (Heb 12:1-3NASB)


There is despair in the darkness of your sin. It will separate you from God. But because of Jesus, you are able to find mercy, grace, forgiveness, hope and above all love! May you find assurance in Him!

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page