top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCrossfire

New Heart


Weeks ago I began writing this blog post on how and why we should set God-centered New Year’s resolutions. In preparation, I read loads of articles, portions of books and listened to several podcasts trying to find the key to successful goal planning. In my research, I learned some very practical ideas and also new ways to spiritually think about goal setting that I was really excited to share with you all. So I sat down to write a great blog post that would inspire all of you as I had been inspired. But I was only able to write about half a page before getting annoyed with myself for lack of direction in the writing. Perhaps I needed to spend a little more time in prayer and contemplation before trying to write the blog post. I prayed and thought for several days and tried again. But still nothing. This persisted for a few more attempts at writing. I just couldn’t seem to find the right words.


Then God used a conversation with a friend to open my mind to see so much more. God

needed me to look back before I was able to look forward.


One of the key ideas in the Old Testament is “remember”. God is always recounting to the Israelites all He had done for them in the past. This wasn’t a means of bragging on God’s part, although His grace and glory should always be at the forefront of our minds when we think of Him. God wanted them to remember because in recalling that God had fulfilled every promise he had ever made to them would give them the assurance that He would fulfill every future promise as well. They could count on Him to always do what He said He would do.


Looking back...


Several years ago, I had a lot going on in my personal life. I was in a place where I felt

overwhelmed by life changes, grief, and loneliness. During that time, I focused on drawing closer to God through Bible study. At first, I just used my Bible app to remind me every day to read a short devotion and maybe a few verses of Scripture. Then I began to hunger for more substance. The devotionals were useful in getting me into a daily practice but as I read I realized they were mostly someone else’s understanding of Scripture. I began reading straight from the Bible. As I would read, I would write my questions down in a notebook. I had a lot of questions! Then when I would have time, I would research and try to find answers to my questions. Thankfully, I was in a phase of life where I had time for prolonged reading and studying.


Hebrews 4:12 says, “For the word of God is living, and active, and sharper than any two-edged sword, and piercing even to the dividing of soul and spirit, of both joints and marrow, and quick to discern the thoughts and intents of the heart.” God was revealing His heart to me and was opening mine up as well. The more I read the Word of God, the more my life began to change. It was not a mere behavioral modification where I could check the “Bible Reading” box on my to-do list. This was a deep, gut-level change that began to occur within me. Hebrews 6:19, says, “We have this hope as an anchor for the soul, firm and secure...”. My reactions and interactions all began to change because my center point for life was now firmly anchored in Christ. My faith was now vibrant and active in my thoughts and in my actions.


During the same time, I was praying for God to bring me new friends. Ladies that would

engage in deep theological conversations with me but also ones where we could just discuss the mundane and practical realities of life together. As I prayed this prayer, I knew that I would have to put myself in situations where new friends could be found. I couldn’t just wait around for someone to call me up and ask me to be their friend. I got involved more with the ladies' ministry events at Church and also began showing up weekly for the Saturday morning walk. Through those walks and hour-long talks, deep friendships have developed.


Earlier I told you that a conversation with a friend is how I was finally able to understand the point that God wanted to make in this blog post. Well, that conversation occurred on the Saturday morning women's walk. She said some things that challenged the way I was thinking about goal setting for the new year. God used her words to open my eyes to see a truth that I had completely overlooked. The last few years were the first time in my life that I actually felt authentic change in the depths of my soul. Just as the prophet Ezekiel foretold generations ago, the Lord had given me a new heart. Perhaps for the first time in my life as a Christian, I knew what it meant to live in Christ. Being in the Word, day after day, changed me. I can now lean in, trust in and have true faith in God. A God that I know better and love more than I ever thought possible. And how like our God but to show me this truth through a new friend that he carefully picked for me in answer to my prayers!


Instead of this being the blog post I originally planned to write with lots of helpful advice on making plans for the future, it ends up being a plea to stop and remember. Walk back over the milestones of your life. Think over all the answered prayers. Reminisce about memories with family and friends. Look for God’s involvement in it all. Recall failures as well because, with the benefit of hindsight, you can better see God’s grace and mercy in them as well. “His mercies never come to an end, they are new every morning” (Lam 3:23)


I will end with the words of Jesus recorded in the Gospel of Mark. He sums it all up and gives us the ultimate goal for our lives:


One of the teachers of religious law was standing there listening to the debate. He realized that Jesus had answered well, so he asked, “Of all the commandments, which is the most important?” Jesus replied, “The most important commandment is this: ‘Listen, O Israel! The Lord our God is the one and only Lord. And you must love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, all your mind, and all your strength.’ The second is equally important: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ No other commandment is greater than these.” Mark 12:29-31

77 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

©2020 by Crossfire. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
bottom of page