top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCrossfire

Praise - Voices in Song


Make a Joyful noise to the Lord, all the Earth! Serve the Lord with Gladness! Come into his presence with singing! Know that the Lord, he is God! It is he who made us, and we are his; we are his people, and the sheep of his pasture. Enter his gates with thanksgiving. And his courts with praise! Give thanks to him; bless his name! For the Lord is good; his steadfast love endures forever, and his faithfulness to all generations.(Psalm 100)


Doesn’t that just make you want to jump up out of your seat and sing at the top of your voice? Singing has always been a big part of my life. As a child, music filled my home. I remember sitting on my dad’s lap and listening to Dean Martin, Sammy Davis Jr., Big Band music and the list goes on. I was in awe of my father’s singing voice. He used to sing for the New York Metropolitan Opera. His voice would bring joy to my heart when he sang any type of music – especially when he sang “Daddy’s Little Girl” nightly.


Years in the choir and ensemble at school, then proceeding into the world of professional musical theater, my life has been filled with song. Growing up Lutheran, I have always sung the traditional hymns every Sunday in church. It was something very familiar to me. Then in my thirties, I was introduced to worship music. You know - the kind of music that makes you want to stand up and throw your hands in the air and shout Hallelujah! It’s that feeling you get when you are filled with the Holy Spirit and all you can do is SING! Making a joyful noise unto the Lord is now the biggest part of my worship time. Praise the Lord! For it is good to sing praise to our God; for it is pleasant, and a song of praise is fitting (Psalm 147:1) As I did from my earthly father’s singing, I feel comfort from my heavenly Father when I sing the words from a worship song.


Praising the Lord doesn’t mean we give praise only in the good times. We should praise him in all circumstances of our lives. I will bless the Lord at all times; his praise shall continually be in my mouth. (Psalm 34:1) In the toughest times of life, praising the Lord gives strength to see it through. In the good times of life, praise expresses the joy that the heart feels. During times of uncertainty, God can send the answer through praise. For me, I often hear the answer I am seeking through worship songs. It is kind of crazy to think that God communicates through song, but He does! Some of my favorite songs are, “The Goodness of God” by Cece Winans, “The Untitled Hymn” by Chris Rice, and “Praise you through the Storm” by Casting Crowns. Perhaps He speaks to others when they hear “The Old Rugged Cross,” “Amazing Grace,” or “What a Friend We Have in Jesus.” Music can be an instrument of worship and praise in so many forms.


But praise does not only come through music. It resonates in the voices of those who speak kindness in His name, who give for His glory, who love others without expectations. It is the lifestyle of those who belong to the Lord.


I encourage you to put on the worship channel and just let it overtake your soul! Throw your hands up to the heavens and let the words of the songs take over your heart. Many times, I drive down the road singing at the top of my lungs. You may feel you don’t have a voice to sing but trust me, God loves when you praise him! He’s listening to our heart not the tone of our voice.


Oh come; let us sing to the Lord; let us make a joyful noise to the Rock of our Salvation.

(Psalm 95:1)



25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

©2020 by Crossfire. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
bottom of page