top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCrossfire

Scripted: Living in the Will of God


Our Father in heaven, hallowed be your name, your kingdom come, your will be done, on earth as it is in heaven.

Matthew 6:9-10


Many years ago, the company that I was working for announced that they were closing the Atlanta office and moving to another state. They offered me a position in the new state. I was also invited for an interview with another company in Atlanta and was told I would probably be offered a job. There were several other “issues” going on that I needed to make a decision about. One day during my lunch break, I ran into a friend. She was also on lunch break, so we had lunch together. I told her all that was going on and then made the statement, “I don’t know what I want to do, so I don’t know what to pray for.” The minute the words were out of my mouth, I realized my heart issue. When did I get so arrogant that I thought I needed to solve my problems and then tell God what He should do? When had I stopped trusting in “Your will be done?”


Early in my life, I was taught the Lord ’s Prayer. We would recite it during Sunday School and during church service. I recited it, but I don’t think I really listened to what I was praying. I somehow forgot that God’s ways are so much better than anything I could plan. As I began to really pray for His guidance and will, I was reminded of James 4. I had to memorize this chapter at camp one year. (I seem to remember Bible verses that I learned as a child better than I remember ones that I learned last week.) James 4 is very much about God’s will be done. God began showing me how important it was to seek His will. Verses 13-15 talk about how we don’t know what tomorrow holds, but we can and should rely on God’s will. I am not always very good at following God’s will even when I know that things go better when I do.


13 Now listen, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go to this or that city, spend a year there, carry on business and make money.” 14 Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes. 15 Instead, you ought to say, “If it is the Lord’s will, we will live and do this or that.” 16 As it is, you boast in your arrogant schemes. All such boasting is evil.


I far too often want my own way. But I repeatedly give in to people because I don’t want an argument or fight. I don’t give in because I think their way is right, it is just easier to give in. This is not how I should respond when asking for God’s will. Through Bible study and years of experience, I know that God’s ways are better. I can trust Him. That is why Bible study and spending time with God is so important. How else can you get to know Him? The Bible shows us God’s character and how much He loves us. It tells how God wanted the best for His people, Israel, even though they didn’t always listen. We can only truly pray God’s will be done when we know God and therefore trust Him.

For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are My ways higher than your ways, and My thoughts than your thoughts. Isaiah 55:9
Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will. Romans 12:2

The ways of the world will disappoint or lead to a less enjoyable life. But God’s ways are so much higher and better than mine or anyone’s. Sadly, we are so used to being disappointed by people, that we are afraid that God will disappoint us too. We need to change the way we think. The only way to do this is to saturate our mind with God’s Word. Then we can “test and prove” God’s will by putting it into practice. He will not disappoint if we do His will.


When I really pray “Your will be done” I am usually asking Him to fix all the things that I have messed up. I am asking Him to help me follow His will so that I won’t keep making the same mistakes. I may not initially like what I am being asked to do or go through, but things always go so much better when I follow Jesus’ lead and pray as He did: “My Father, if it is possible, may this cup be taken from me. Yet not as I will, but as you will” (Matthew 26:39). Jesus was committed to seeing God’s will accomplished, even to the point of death.

The amazing thing is that God never asks us to do it on our own. He will always help us. And if we stop worrying about things and trust His will, we can have peace and joy while His will is being accomplished.


I decided to make the move out of state and I had peace and adventure along the way.



30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

©2020 by Crossfire. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
bottom of page