top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCrossfire

The Persistent Widow


In a certain town there was a judge who neither feared God nor cared about men. And there was a widow in that town who kept coming to him with the plea, ”Grant me justice against my adversary.”


For some time he refused. But finally he said to himself, “Even though I don’t fear God or care about men, yet because this widow keeps bothering me, I will see that she gets justice so that she won’t eventually wear me out with her coming.”

Luke 18: 2-5

 

In this unusual format, Jesus uses an unlikely character to help explain our responsibility in prayer.

 

Perspective - Writer One


So, this scripture hit me like what? Why would we compare God to an uncaring, unjust Judge? Nope, not me. BUT, the point is being consistent when connecting with the Father and listening when He answers us.

When my children were small and asked for something I sometimes had to tell them no. They would then begin to beg me to change my mind. Over and over and over again...now, my noes were not to hurt them but to try and do what was best for them at the time. At the same time, giving them a yes, caused great joy!

We have to remember to stay in constant contact with God who hears our prayers and desires a deep and meaningful relationship with us. He knows what is best for us in all circumstances. We should remember this when our prayer requests are also and sometimes a "no". And rejoice when He answers with a "yes"!

Either way, our prayers and praises are always heard....and like the old TV show from the '60s title---FATHER KNOWS BEST!!! Stay in prayer with Him!

 

Perspective - Writer Two


Early in the week, I began thinking of this parable and it seemed like a very easy one to understand. Lesson one: pray with the same tenacity as the widow had in her relentless pursuit of justice. Lesson two: the world is very much like the unjust judge as it dishonors God and dismisses the concerns of a righteous person. Lesson three: our wonderful Father is nothing like the judge in the story. He will always be just, gracious and merciful.


But the Spirit of God was not going to let me walk away from this parable so easily.


The first and last verse of this parable caught my attention as they had never before. In verse 1, Luke tells the purpose of the parable, “so they should not lose heart”. Then, at the end of the parable, in verse 8, Jesus says, “When the Son of Man comes, will he find faith on the earth?” Jesus’s words began to work through my mind, soul and heart this week. The last few years have been filled with multiple Spiritual battles. Deep painful ones. In my eyes, I had made it out of the battle. I felt stronger having survived the battle. Evidently, there was still some healing to be done.


Prayer is a vital part of our relationship with God, but prayer, even persistent prayer, will not be fruitful if we have lost heart and abandoned our faith. In the parable, the widow’s persistence of action is being driven by her faith. It was time to ask some hard questions. Are my prayers being driven by my faith or simply as an act of obedience? Do I believe that my Father in Heaven is listening? And if He is listening, will He answer? Will all things truly be restored one day when He returns? Will He return soon? Am I afraid to pray fervently for Christ’s Second coming?

In Luke 17, Jesus had been speaking to a group of Pharisees and disciples concerning the coming of the Kingdom of God. Jesus knew that life in this world would never be easy for His followers. Being obedient to God causes us to be at odds with those who remain in the darkness of the Satan’s world. Jesus knew how easy it would be for us to lose heart. It sometimes feels as if we are fighting a never-ending battle where we are always on the losing side. So this parable was a way to encourage His followers. To remind them of their connection to Him through prayer and to remind that that hope lies in His future coming not in this current world.


A few years back I started choosing a “Word of the Year”. Basically, instead of setting a lot of different New Year’s Resolutions, you select one single word to be your focus for the year. Funny thing, my word this year was perseverance.


In the book of Hebrews, the writer is addressing a group of converted Jewish Christians who were tired of the struggle. Their new faith was shaken and they were considering going back to Judaism. Throughout the book, the author reminds them of how Jesus is the better choice because he is actually the fulfillment of all the promises in the Old Testament. He reminds them in Hebrews 6:19 says “we have this hope as an anchor for the soul, firm and secure.”


I was reminded this week that Jesus is the only truth, the only One who can give out pure justice, and the only One capable of being righteousness. My heart and my faith have been renewed. Now that I am aware of my heart’s condition I can begin to mend by tenaciously pursuing Jesus and praying anew that when he returns He will find me faithful.

 

PerspectiveWriter Three


I had a friend tell me once that we should only come to God one time with our petitions – that to pray repeatedly for the same thing indicates a lack of faith. I am not sure where he based this theology, but it is not consistent with Jesus’ parable of the persistent widow.


Scripture reminds us of those who prayed constantly for the same outcome. Hannah, who prayed for years that she be given a son, Elijah prayed about rain, Job prayed for relief from his afflictions. Jesus, in the Garden of Gethsemane, prayed that He be saved from the cup of sacrifice, prayed while the disciples slept, prayed until His sweat became drops of blood. Not all prayers were answered as prayed, but each took the penitent into the presence of God, recognizing that all power and all answers lay with Him.


To pray persistently requires us to wait upon the Lord. We are a people of little patience. We demand instant gratification in our work, in our homes, and from our God. But when we wait upon the Lord – in the waiting when our prayers have been prayed yet another time - we listen for His voice, we learn to bend to His will, and we are lifted up. “They who wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength, they shall mount up on wings as eagles, they shall run and not be weary and they shall walk and not faint.” Isaiah 40:31, KJV

 

Perspective – Writer Four

When I think of persistence, my toddler comes to mind. My precious, tenacious, and insistent toddler. In Matthew 18, Jesus told his disciples, “Whoever takes the lowly position of this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.” Teaching us that humility and meekness are required. The disciples were given a new perspective: the way up is down.

Luke mentions a number of widows in the ministry of Jesus. From the various accounts, they could be characterized as vulnerable, or of a lowly position. But they also appear prophetic, active, and faithful. The persistent widow seems to have childlike faith. She kept coming to the judge demanding justice, trusting she would be helped. Jesus reminds us to trust God completely, to be fully dependent on Him.

As we get older, we can become cynical. Cynicism can weaken our faith and not allow us to hope in answered prayer. We often do not get immediate answers when we pray; sometimes, we get a different answer than we wanted. Regardless, God expects us to keep seeking, knocking, and praying until the answers come (Matthew 7:7-8).

Like the widow, may we be persistent in prayer and go to Him with our every need and trust Him completely. We are, after all, His children.


29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

©2020 by Crossfire. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
bottom of page